A free digital nomad bank account finder that shows the accounts that work abroad, and which you can open from where you live.
5.0(1 rating)Find the best bank accounts for digital nomads: low fees abroad, free cash, many currencies, and which ones you can open from where you live.
About you
Loading the cards and accounts…
This free finder shows the best bank accounts for digital nomads: the accounts that let you spend and take out cash abroad without a fee on every payment, and which of them are open to people where you live, by each bank's own rules.
Pick where you live, or No fixed home if you don't have one.
The finder puts first the accounts whose rules don't rule you out, with the lowest fees abroad at the top, and marks the accounts that are only for residents of their country.
Here's how I'd set up banking as a nomad, the best accounts for it, the banks that open accounts for non-residents, and how safe your money is in each.
What is a digital nomad bank account?
It's an account that keeps working while you move between countries, which matters from the day you become a digital nomad.
Here's what to look for:
- Low or no fees abroad – spending and cash in other currencies at a fair rate
- Many currencies – holding, receiving and converting money without a new account in each country
- An app you can run from anywhere – opening, cards and support without a branch
- Rules that fit your life – who can open it, and whether it needs a home in its country
No single account does all of it, which is why most nomads keep a few.
How to use the digital nomad bank account finder
Your choices stay in this browser, so the list is ready when you come back.
How to bank as a digital nomad
A simple setup has four parts, each doing one job:
- A home account – in the country where you're a tax resident or keep an address, for income, taxes and your credit history
- A multi-currency account – to hold, receive and convert money in other currencies, like Wise or Revolut
- A card with no foreign fee – for everyday spending, so each payment isn't marked up
- A way to get cash – free withdrawals abroad, or ATM fees refunded, like Schwab Investor Checking, Fidelity's Cash Management Account and Chase Private Client
Keep a card from a second account somewhere separate, so one lost or blocked card doesn't leave you stuck.
Nearly every bank asks where you live.
If you pick No fixed home, the finder shows the accounts whose providers say they open for people abroad; most others need a home in their country.
The best bank accounts for digital nomads
Most bank accounts are for people who live in their country, so the best one depends on where you live.
Here's what each charges when you pay in another currency, what cash abroad costs, and who can open it, country by country.
The best bank accounts for digital nomads in the UK
If you live in the UK, most app banks charge nothing when you pay abroad, and Wise and Revolut add other currencies:
- Foreign fee
- From 0.24%
- Cash abroad
- £250 a month free
- Who can open
- In its supported countries
- Foreign fee
- None up to £1,000 a month, then 1%
- Cash abroad
- £200 a month free
- Who can open
- 18+, in its supported countries
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- £200 a month free
- Who can open
- Residents of the UK
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- Free
- Who can open
- Residents of the UK
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- Not listed
- Who can open
- Residents of the UK
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- Not listed
- Who can open
- Residents of the UK
- Foreign fee
- 2.75%
- Cash abroad
- 2%
- Who can open
- Not stated
- Foreign fee
- 2.75%
- Cash abroad
- Not listed
- Who can open
- From abroad, if you qualify
The best bank accounts for digital nomads in the US
If you live in the US, these cost the least abroad; Schwab One International is Schwab's account for people who live elsewhere:
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- ATM fees refunded
- Who can open
- People abroad too
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- ATM fees refunded
- Who can open
- US residents
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- Not listed
- Who can open
- US citizens and green card holders
- Foreign fee
- Up to 1%
- Cash abroad
- ATM fees refunded
- Who can open
- Fidelity customers
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- $2.50 each
- Who can open
- Residents of the US
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- ATM fees refunded
- Who can open
- Residents of the US
- Foreign fee
- Not listed
- Cash abroad
- $250 a month free
- Who can open
- In its supported countries
- Foreign fee
- None up to $1,000 a month, then 0.5%
- Cash abroad
- Not listed
- Who can open
- Not stated
- Foreign fee
- Not listed
- Cash abroad
- ATM fees refunded
- Who can open
- Residents of 51 listed countries, outside the US
The best bank accounts for digital nomads in Europe
If you live in the EEA, these open online, and several charge nothing when you pay in another currency:
- Foreign fee
- From 0.2%
- Cash abroad
- €250 a month free
- Who can open
- In its supported countries
- Foreign fee
- Not listed
- Cash abroad
- Not listed
- Who can open
- 18+, in its supported countries
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- 1.7%
- Who can open
- Residents of its EEA countries
- Foreign fee
- 0.5%
- Cash abroad
- Not listed
- Who can open
- Residents of its 27 EEA countries
- Foreign fee
- None with 700 EUR a month coming in, else 2.2%
- Cash abroad
- Free
- Who can open
- Not stated
- Foreign fee
- 2%
- Cash abroad
- €3 each
- Who can open
- Residents of Germany and Austria
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- Not listed
- Who can open
- Residents of its 17 EU countries
The best bank accounts for digital nomads in Australia
In Australia, ING charges no fees abroad, and CommBank opens for people moving there:
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- Free
- Who can open
- Residents of Australia
- Foreign fee
- 3.5%
- Cash abroad
- 3.5%
- Who can open
- Residents of Australia
The best bank accounts for digital nomads in Canada
In Canada, Simplii has no monthly fee but charges 2.5% on foreign currency; for spending abroad, the card finder lists Scotiabank's Passport card, which charges none:
- Foreign fee
- 2.5%
- Cash abroad
- Not listed
- Who can open
- Residents of Canada
The best bank accounts for digital nomads in the UAE
In the UAE, accounts are mostly for residents, and Wio opens before you move:
- Foreign fee
- 2%
- Cash abroad
- AED 21 each
- Who can open
- Residents of the UAE
- Foreign fee
- 1.99%
- Cash abroad
- AED 21 each
- Who can open
- Not stated
- Foreign fee
- 2.5%
- Cash abroad
- Free
- Who can open
- People abroad too
- Foreign fee
- 3.14%
- Cash abroad
- AED 20 each
- Who can open
- Residents of the UAE
The best bank accounts for digital nomads in Georgia
Georgia's banks open accounts for non-residents, usually in a branch, and Credo serves foreigners who live there:
- Foreign fee
- Not listed
- Cash abroad
- 2%
- Who can open
- People abroad too
- Foreign fee
- Not listed
- Cash abroad
- 2%
- Who can open
- People abroad too
- Foreign fee
- 1%
- Cash abroad
- 2%
- Who can open
- People abroad too
- Foreign fee
- Not listed
- Cash abroad
- Not listed
- Who can open
- People abroad too
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- 3.5%
- Who can open
- Foreigners living in Georgia
Wise and Revolut work the same way in the UK, Europe and the US, with their own fees in each; the finder shows the version for where you live.
The best digital nomad bank accounts, one by one
Here's each of the main accounts in detail, with what it asks for and how to open it:
Wise (UK)
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Foreign fee
- From 0.24%
- Cash abroad
- £250 a month free
- Protected up to
- Safeguarded
- Opens
- Online
- Who can open
- In its supported countries
It holds and converts many currencies, from 0.24% at the mid-market rate, and gives free cash withdrawals up to £250 a month. Your money is safeguarded rather than covered by a deposit scheme.
- Spend in 40+ currencies at the mid-market rate
- Converting from 0.24%
- Free cash withdrawals up to 250 GBP a month
- Not a bank: no FSCS protection
- 2.69% on cash withdrawals over 250 GBP a month
- 1Sign up online or in the Wise app.
- 2Verify your identity with a passport (photo page), a national ID card or a driving licence; an ID from another country than the one you live in is fine.
- 3Wise may also ask for proof of address or a picture of you holding your ID, and sometimes a visa or residence permit.
- 4Verification usually takes 1 to 2 working days.
Revolut (UK)
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Foreign fee
- None up to £1,000 a month, then 1%
- Cash abroad
- £200 a month free
- Protected up to
- £120,000
- Opens
- Online
- Who can open
- 18+, in its supported countries
It exchanges at Revolut's rate up to £1,000 a month on the free Standard plan, then adds a 1% fair usage fee, and gives 5 free withdrawals or £200 a month. It's a licensed UK bank, so eligible deposits are FSCS-protected.
Revolut Bank UK Ltd launched as a fully licensed UK bank on 11 March 2026. Current accounts roll out to new customers gradually; existing customers move over a few months. 18 or over, living in a supported country (16 or 17 in the UK only).
- Now a UK bank with FSCS protection on eligible deposits
- Free Standard plan
- 5 free cash withdrawals a month
- 1% fair usage fee above 1,000 GBP of exchange a month on Standard
- 2% on cash above 200 GBP a month
Starling Bank
- Monthly fee
- Not listed
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- Free
- Protected up to
- £120,000
- Opens
- Online
- Who can open
- Residents of the UK
It charges no fees on spending or cash withdrawals abroad, at Mastercard's rate, though ATM owners may add their own.
- No Starling fees on spending or cash abroad
- Mastercard's exchange rate
- 1Check you live in the UK and hold the right to reside there.
- 2Have photo ID ready, such as a passport (a non-UK passport with a share code) or a UK driving licence.
- 3Starling may ask for an eVisa share code to confirm your residency.
Monzo
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- £200 a month free
- Protected up to
- £120,000
- Opens
- Online
- Who can open
- Residents of the UK
It charges no fee on card spending in any currency, at Mastercard's rate, and outside the EEA gives £200 of free cash withdrawals every 30 days, then 3%.
- No fees on card payments abroad, at Mastercard's rate
- Unlimited free cash in the UK and EEA when Monzo is your main bank
- Cash outside the EEA is free only up to 200 GBP every 30 days on the free plan
- 1Download the Monzo app; applying takes about 10 minutes.
- 2Have valid photo ID ready: a passport, a driving licence or a national ID card.
- 3Take a picture of your ID and a selfie video; Monzo may also ask for proof of address.
N26
- Monthly fee
- Not listed
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- 1.7%
- Protected up to
- €100,000
- Opens
- Online
- Who can open
- Residents of its EEA countries
It opens in the app for residents of its European countries. On the Standard plan, cash in other currencies costs a 1.7% markup.
- Opens online in 21 European countries
- Free foreign-currency cash on the Go and Metal plans
- 1.7% on foreign-currency cash on the Standard plan
- Only for residents of the countries it serves
- 1Download the N26 app on a compatible smartphone; you must live in a supported country.
- 2Verify your identity with a photo or video check and a selfie; the app lists the documents you can use, which depend on your nationality and where you live.
- 3N26 may ask for proof of address, such as a utility bill, an official letter or a bank statement; in Spain, it asks for a tax ID.
bunq
- Monthly fee
- Not listed
- Foreign fee
- 0.5%
- Cash abroad
- Not listed
- Protected up to
- €100,000
- Opens
- Online
- Who can open
- Residents of its 27 EEA countries
You can start signing up from anywhere and finish once you move to one of its countries. On the Free plan, the first €1,000 a year of foreign-currency spending gets Mastercard's rate plus 0.5%, then 3%.
- A licensed Dutch bank: deposits guaranteed up to 100,000 EUR
- Sign-up can start before you move to Europe
- Interest on USD and GBP balances
- 3% on foreign-currency card spending over 1,000 EUR a year on the Free plan
- 0.5% markup on the exchange rate
- 1Start signing up in the bunq app, from anywhere.
- 2Finish once you're a citizen or resident of one of bunq's supported EEA countries.
DKB Girokonto
- Monthly fee
- €4.50 a month
- Foreign fee
- None with 700 EUR a month coming in, else 2.2%
- Cash abroad
- Free
- Protected up to
- €100,000
- Opens
- Online
- Who can open
- Not stated
People paid in Germany who want a free account with no fees abroad.
- No fee abroad with 700 EUR a month coming in
- Free Visa debit card
- Free until your 28th birthday
- 2.20% abroad without active status
- 4.50 EUR a month without 700 EUR coming in (from age 28)
- Pages in German
- 1Apply online.
- 2Verify yourself by video (Video-Ident), only for yourself.
Charles Schwab Investor Checking
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- ATM fees refunded
- Protected up to
- $250,000
- Opens
- Online
- Who can open
- US residents
It refunds ATM fees worldwide, charges no foreign transaction fees and no monthly fee, and it's linked to a Schwab One brokerage account.
- No monthly fee
- No foreign transaction fees
- Unlimited ATM fee rebates worldwide
- Needs a linked Schwab One brokerage account
What it asks for: A linked Schwab One brokerage account (no minimum balance)
- 1Open it together with a Schwab One brokerage account, which it must be linked to (no minimum balance).
- 2Schwab's site is designed for US residents: people who live elsewhere face country-specific restrictions, and Schwab has separate services for them.
Fidelity Cash Management Account
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Foreign fee
- Up to 1%
- Cash abroad
- ATM fees refunded
- Protected up to
- $250,000
- Opens
- Online
- Who can open
- Fidelity customers
It charges no account fees and no foreign transaction fees, and reimburses every other bank's ATM fee at ATMs displaying the Visa, Plus or Star logos. It's only for Fidelity customers.
Only for Fidelity customers: anyone with a Fidelity account can open one. Fidelity's page doesn't say whether people who live outside the US can.
- No account fees or minimums
- No foreign transaction fees
- ATM fees reimbursed at Visa, Plus and Star ATMs
- Only for Fidelity customers
What it asks for: A Fidelity account
Capital One 360 Checking
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- Not listed
- Protected up to
- $250,000
- Opens
- Online
- Who can open
- US citizens and green card holders
It has no monthly fee or minimum balance, charges no foreign transaction fees, and gives fee-free cash at 70,000+ Capital One, MoneyPass and Allpoint ATMs.
For US citizens and green card holders with a US physical address, 18 or over, with a US mobile number and an SSN or ITIN. No minimum deposit.
- No monthly fee or minimum
- No foreign transaction fees
- 70,000+ fee-free ATMs
- Needs a Social Security number or ITIN
What it asks for: A Social Security number or an ITIN
Chase Private Client
- Monthly fee
- $35 a month
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- ATM fees refunded
- Protected up to
- $250,000
- Opens
- Not stated
- Who can open
- People abroad too
It has no foreign exchange fee and refunds ATM fees worldwide. Chase waives its $35 monthly fee when you keep $150,000 or more with it.
- No foreign exchange fee on card purchases and cash abroad
- No ATM fees worldwide, with ATM owners' fees refunded
- No Chase fees on incoming or outgoing wire transfers
- A dedicated Chase Private Client banker
- $35 a month unless you keep $150,000+ with Chase
- Opening needs the same US details as other Chase accounts
- 1Check what you'll need from abroad: Chase's guide for non-residents asks for proof of a US address.
- 2Have photo ID ready; a passport works.
- 3Use an ITIN in place of a Social Security number if you don't have one.
HSBC Premier (UK)
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Foreign fee
- 2.75%
- Cash abroad
- Not listed
- Protected up to
- £120,000
- Opens
- Online
- Who can open
- From abroad, if you qualify
It's part of HSBC Premier, which helps you open accounts with HSBC in other countries, and you can apply from outside the UK if you meet one of its rules.
- Opens HSBC accounts in 20+ other countries
- Worldwide travel insurance with family cover
- No monthly fee
- Premier status carries to HSBC in other countries
- Needs 100,000 GBP a year in income or 100,000 GBP with HSBC UK
What it asks for: Individual annual income of at least 100,000 GBP, paid into the HSBC Premier Bank Account; or you already qualify for HSBC Premier in another country
- 1Apply from outside the UK if you're moving there, or if you already hold HSBC Premier in another country.
- 2Meet one of the Premier rules: the income, the savings, or Premier elsewhere.
- 3Some account features may not be available while you live outside the UK.
ING Orange Everyday
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- Free
- Protected up to
- AUD 250,000
- Opens
- Online
- Who can open
- Residents of Australia
Australians who want one account for home and travel.
- No ING fee on spending or cash abroad
- No monthly fees
- 1% cashback on utility bills, up to 100 AUD a year
- Only for Australian tax residents
- ATM operators' fees are no longer refunded
- 1Be an Australian resident for tax purposes.
- 2Have an Australian mobile number and a valid email address.
- 3Apply online.
Payoneer
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Foreign fee
- Up to 3.5%
- Cash abroad
- $3.15 each
- Protected up to
- Not listed
- Opens
- Online
- Who can open
- Freelancers and businesses
It's free to receive payments in your local currency and between Payoneer accounts, and 1% in other currencies. Its card charges up to 3.5% with currency conversion.
18 or over, with a complete residential address. Payoneer says it follows US sanctions rules and can't serve residents of certain countries, but publishes no list outside the signed-in account.
- Free to receive payments in your local currency
- Receiving accounts in several currencies
- Free between Payoneer accounts
- Up to 3.5% on card spending in other currencies
- 29.95 USD a year if you receive under 6,000 USD in 12 months
Bank accounts you can open as a non-resident
These banks open accounts for people who don't live in their country, so they can be a base when you have no home account:
TBC Bank for expats
- Monthly fee
- GEL 10 a month
- Foreign fee
- Not listed
- Cash abroad
- 2%
- Protected up to
- GEL 50,000
- Opens
- Online and in a branch
- Who can open
- People abroad too
Non-residents who can visit Georgia once and want a bank account outside their home country.
- Open to non-residents with just a passport
- Multi-currency account with an international card
- Deposits insured up to 50,000 GEL
- Registration ends with a branch visit in Georgia
- Card plans from 10 GEL a month
What it asks for: A passport and a mobile phone number; a branch visit with the passport to complete registration
- 1Start online with your passport and mobile number on TBC's registration site for non-residents.
- 2Visit a TBC branch with your passport to complete registration.
Bank of Georgia for non-residents
- Monthly fee
- GEL 5 a month
- Foreign fee
- Not listed
- Cash abroad
- 2%
- Protected up to
- GEL 50,000
- Opens
- Online and in a branch
- Who can open
- People abroad too
Non-residents who can visit Georgia once and want a second bank account.
- Multi-currency account and card in one package
- Full English app for banking from abroad
- Deposits insured up to 50,000 GEL
- First credentials need a branch visit in Georgia
- Extra checks and a fee for citizens of Russia and Belarus
- 1Visit a Bank of Georgia branch to get your app credentials, if you don't have them yet.
- 2Then bank in the BOG app, in English, from anywhere.
- 3Citizens of Russia and Belarus apply online at kyc.bog.ge with a passport, 6 months of bank statements and proof of work; the review fee isn't refunded if the application is declined.
Liberty Bank Account EXTRA
- Monthly fee
- GEL 25 a month
- Foreign fee
- 1%
- Cash abroad
- 2%
- Protected up to
- GEL 50,000
- Opens
- In a branch
- Who can open
- People abroad too
Non-residents who can visit Georgia once and want a multi-currency account there.
- Multi-currency account in GEL, USD, EUR and GBP
- No fee for using the card abroad
- Over 370 branches and 647 ATMs in Georgia
- Opens at a branch in Georgia
- Cash at other banks costs 2%, minimum 10 GEL
- 1Visit a Liberty branch in Georgia: one Liberty recommends for non-residents, or any branch you choose.
- 2Ask for Account EXTRA: a multi-currency account in GEL, USD, EUR and GBP with a Visa or Mastercard debit card, and internet, mobile and SMS banking.
- 3Once the account is open, you can get a Digital Card in the Liberty app in seconds.
Halyk Bank Georgia
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Foreign fee
- Not listed
- Cash abroad
- Not listed
- Protected up to
- GEL 50,000
- Opens
- Not stated
- Who can open
- People abroad too
Non-residents who want a Georgian account to hold money and send few transfers.
Halyk's rates list an account for non-resident individuals at 50 GEL to open, with no monthly fee; its Russian page explains these are the tariffs for non-residents who became clients from March 7, 2022. How to open isn't stated in English.
- No monthly fee
- 50 GEL to open
- Transfers from a non-resident's account: 2%, minimum 15 USD
HSBC One (Hong Kong)
- Monthly fee
- Not listed
- Foreign fee
- None
- Cash abroad
- HKD 40 each
- Protected up to
- HKD 800,000
- Opens
- Online
- Who can open
- Not stated
People who want a Hong Kong account in several currencies, and HSBC Premier customers elsewhere.
- Spend and save in 12 major currencies
- Opens in the app with an eligible overseas passport
- Deposits protected up to HK$800,000
- Only some overseas passports can open it in the app
- 1Apply online in the HSBC HK App with a Hong Kong ID or an eligible overseas passport.
- 2Upload proof of ID and proof of address, and any other documents HSBC asks for.
- 3If you hold HSBC Premier in another country, you automatically qualify for Premier in Hong Kong.
Mashreq Gold Current Account
- Monthly fee
- Not listed
- Foreign fee
- 2.5%
- Cash abroad
- Free
- Protected up to
- Not listed
- Opens
- Not stated
- Who can open
- People abroad too
UAE residents, and non-residents who want a UAE account in dollars, euros or pounds.
- Open to non-residents in foreign currencies
- First cheque book and debit card free
- Unlimited free branch transactions
- Non-residents cannot hold AED in it
- Needs a minimum monthly income
What it asks for: 18 years or older; a valid passport and a valid Emirates ID (residents); non-residents bring their ID, passport and 2 months of bank statements from their country of residence; a minimum monthly income (amount on Mashreq's eligibility page)
- 1Check you qualify: 18 or older, and a UAE resident or a non-resident with bank statements from home.
- 2Residents bring a valid passport and Emirates ID.
- 3Non-residents bring their ID, passport and 2 months of bank statements from their country of residence.
- 4Non-residents open in popular foreign currencies; only residents can open an account in dirhams, under the Central Bank of the UAE's guidelines.
In the UAE, non-residents can open accounts in popular foreign currencies at banks that offer them, but only residents can open an account in dirhams.
A bank outside the country you live in is one part of being a global citizen: your money isn't tied to one place.
Business bank accounts for digital nomads
If you run a company, like a lifestyle business, it needs its own account.
Business accounts open by where the company is registered, and some take owners who live anywhere:
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Opens
- Online
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Opens
- Online
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Opens
- Online
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Opens
- Online
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Opens
- Not stated
- Monthly fee
- £10 a month
- Opens
- Online
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Opens
- Online
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Opens
- Not stated
- Monthly fee
- $15 a month
- Opens
- Online and in a branch
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Opens
- Online
- Monthly fee
- AED 99 a month
- Opens
- Online
- Monthly fee
- €30 a month
- Opens
- Online and in a branch
- Monthly fee
- Free
- Opens
- Not stated
- Monthly fee
- €9 a month
- Opens
- Online
- Monthly fee
- €5 a month
- Opens
- Not stated
Mercury and Relay open for US companies, and both take owners who live abroad.
Relay asks them for a physical US address.
Tide takes UK companies whose directors live overseas.
Starling wants every director in the UK.
Wise Business, Airwallex and Aspire open for companies in the countries they support.
LHV wants a clear connection to Estonia.
If you don't have a company yet, company formation compared shows what one costs to set up in each country.
The finder lists them with the personal accounts, and the business bank account finder matches each one to where your company is registered.
Is your money safe in these accounts?
A bank account is protected by its country's deposit scheme, up to a limit.
An e-money account is safeguarded instead: the provider keeps your money apart from its own, but a deposit scheme doesn't cover it.
- Scheme
- FDIC
- Covers up to
- $250,000 per depositor, per bank
- Scheme
- FSCS
- Covers up to
- £120,000 per person, per bank
- Scheme
- Each country's scheme
- Covers up to
- €100,000 per depositor, per bank
- Scheme
- Deposit Insurance Agency
- Covers up to
- 50,000 GEL
- Scheme
- Deposit Protection Scheme
- Covers up to
- HK$800,000 per depositor, per bank
- Scheme
- None published
- Covers up to
- The law allows a scheme, but I found no amount
The UK limit rose to £120,000 on December 1, 2025, and Georgia's to 50,000 GEL on April 1, 2026.
Wise is not a bank, so money in Wise is safeguarded.
Revolut Bank UK Ltd became a fully licensed UK bank on March 11, 2026, so eligible deposits with it are FSCS-protected.
How the digital nomad bank account finder decides
Each digital nomad bank account gets one of four answers for you:
- Nothing rules you out – no rule on the provider's own pages or sign-up form excludes you
- Not confirmed for you – the provider doesn't say whether people who live elsewhere can open it, and you don't live there
- For residents of a country – it's only for residents, or it needs a residence document such as an Emirates ID
- Needs a company in a country – a business account that takes companies from certain countries only
- Its rules exclude where you live – the provider's own list of countries leaves out where you live
- Its rules mention one of your passports – the provider's own list names a country whose passport you hold
Then it rates how hard opening is, for you:
- Easy – it opens online from abroad, with nothing local to show
- Medium – one step in person, or something local you may not have (a tax number, address, bank account or credit history there), extra paperwork, or an income threshold
- Hard – in person only, or a real tie to the country is required
The same rule sits under the list, and every digital nomad bank account says why it got its rating.
None of these is a promise: the bank decides when you apply.
Your passport can matter as much as where you live.
Pick every passport you hold, and the finder checks each provider's own published list: some go by where you live, some by citizenship, some by both, and the finder follows each one's wording.
Mercury, for example, goes by where you live, not your citizenship, while Relay counts either.
Where a provider publishes no list, the finder can't check, and US banks also follow US sanctions.
The bank accounts and cards I use
I'm not a US citizen, and I bank with Chase: I have Chase Private Client and Chase Business Complete Checking. Private Client has no foreign exchange fees and no ATM fees worldwide, and Chase waives its $35 monthly fee when you keep $150,000 or more with it.
Private Client is great if you qualify, but it's harder to get. You need proof of a US address, which you can get without living in the US, by staying there for a while or getting a short contract there. After that it's usually easy, especially with a good relationship with your banker. It depends on the banker and what they think: one turned me down, and another in the same city said yes.
Most people start with a regular account like Chase Total Checking, and I think it's still better than most other US banks. For a US company, I also like Mercury.
I keep a big bank on purpose. A neobank like Wise or Mercury can shut an account down, and with Chase that's very hard. And if JPMorgan Chase ever went under, I think we'd have bigger problems to worry about: it would be the end of the American economy, and in many ways the world's.
I use Wise to hold and convert other currencies, and I bank with HSBC in the UK. I've had American Express cards in the US and in the UK, where I had the Platinum, personal and business. I'm Marriott Bonvoy Titanium Elite.
In Dubai, I banked with Emirates NBD and Mashreq, and had Emirates NBD's Marriott and Emirates cards. I'd recommend Wio Personal and Wio Business there, because they have by far the best UI, but I'd still try to get an Emirates NBD account too.
That's my own mix, not a ranking. I haven't lived everywhere, so the digital nomad bank account finder stays objective: the order comes from the rules above, never from what I use.
The Wise link is an affiliate link, so I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Where the facts on these digital nomad bank accounts come from
Every fee, rule and requirement comes from the provider's own pages: its product page, fee schedule, pricing and terms, or eligibility page.
Deposit protection comes from each scheme's own site, and each digital nomad bank account lists its sources with the date I read them.
When a provider doesn't publish something, the finder leaves it empty and says so, rather than filling it in from a comparison site.
Fees change, so check the provider before you apply.
It's information, not financial advice.
Who is the digital nomad bank account finder for?
It's for anyone living and working across countries, and each of them has a next step:
- Bank account finder – every personal account, country by country
- Card fees abroad calculator – what one payment or withdrawal abroad costs on each account
- Money transfer comparison – moving money between your accounts
- Digital nomad visa finder – choosing where to live next
- 183-day rule calculator – counting days before a stay makes you a tax resident
Start with where you live today, and change it when you move: the list follows you.
Digital Nomad Bank Account Finder FAQs
Questions about banks and cards abroad? Here's what to know.
There isn't one best account, because each one depends on where you live.
Wise and Revolut are the multi-currency accounts most nomads start with, and the finder shows which you can open from your country.
Some banks say they open accounts for people who live elsewhere, like TBC Bank and Bank of Georgia.
Many others are for residents only, and the finder marks them.
No, Wise is not a bank.
Your money in Wise is safeguarded, kept apart from Wise's own money, rather than covered by a deposit scheme.
Starling, Monzo, N26, Schwab Investor Checking, Capital One 360 Checking, Chime and Chase Private Client charge no fee when you pay in another currency.
Fidelity's own pages disagree: one says it charges no foreign transaction fee, another says there may be a 1% fee.
Revolut's Standard plan is free up to £1,000 a month in the UK, then 1%.
Schwab Investor Checking and Chase Private Client refund ATM fees worldwide, and Fidelity's Cash Management Account refunds them at ATMs displaying the Visa, Plus or Star logos.
Wise and Revolut give a free amount each month instead, then charge a fee.
I did. I'm Navid Moazzez, and the digital nomad bank account finder is one of my free tools on navid.me.
Read about me, or see my creator profile.
Navid.me is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this site, I may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.
More free tools
The most actionable AI newsletter for founders
Every week, get proven AI strategies, curated tools, and step-by-step systems to grow your audience, create better content, and build a profitable creator business.
No fluff, no filler, no BS. Just five minutes each week that might level up your online business and life.
P.S. Sign up now to get free access to my ultimate AI tools guide for creators.





















